Commercial Truck Accident FAQs
Are commercial truck accidents common?Yes. In 2011, 287,000 large trucks were involved in traffic crashes resulting in 88,000 injuries and 3,757 deaths in the U.S.
What causes commercial truck accidents?From tired driving to tire blowouts, there are many things that can cause a commercial vehicle accident. That’s why truck drivers must follow strict guidelines including how many hours they work, how they load cargo, how they maneuver their vehicles and more. When a driver fails to follow proper procedure, this usually leads to an accident.
Should I seek medical attention after an accident even if I feel okay?Yes. While some injuries are obvious, others may not be visible. Your body could also be full of adrenaline after the accident, which could temporarily dull symptoms of your injury. It’s best to get a medical exam to ensure you are not injured, or to document any injuries you do have.
If I’ve been injured in a commercial truck accident in Tampa or anywhere in Florida, can I sue for damages?Yes. If you were injured in an accident that was caused by someone else’s negligence, you have a right to file for damages to cover medical costs, pain and suffering, lost wages and/or property damage.
If I’ve lost a loved one due to an accident, can I file a claim on their behalf?Yes. If you have lost a loved one in an accident caused by someone else, you may be able to file a wrongful death suit on behalf of your loved one.
Can multiple parties be considered at fault for my accident?Yes. Commercial vehicle accidents can be complicated and more than one person can be considered at fault for your accident. For example, if a truck driver knew about malfunctioning equipment but did not bother to fix it, both the driver and his employer could be considered at fault.
Should I wait to file a claim for my commercial vehicle accident?It’s best to file a claim soon after an accident. The statute of limitations restricts the amount of time you have to file a claim and varies based on the type of claim. In Florida, for example, the statute of limitations for an auto accident is typically 4 years; however, a wrongful death case is usually only 2 years. It’s best to get started immediately to ensure justice for you and your loved ones.